Residency programs - What they like to see and how to get noticed!

usmle
residency

Hello everyone, my name is Dr. AJ and I am an attending physician! I specialize in Family Medicine and Geriatrics! I created this topic for random discussion and will be glad to answer any questions you may have! Whether you are a med student, resident or looking for answers, I would be glad to help as much as possible! Hope to hear from you guys soon!

Hello Dr. @AJibawi. Thank you for helping and sharing your experience. What do you recommend when preparing for USMLE step 3? and are you a US or International medical graduate? Thank you.

Thanks Dr. AJ. I am considering family med as a backup for my first choice which is internal medicine. Do you think my LoRs for from Internal medicine can help my Family medicine application? What do you recommend in terms of LoRs?

Hello, I hope all is well! I am an IMG and for step 3 I used Doctors In Training, Master of the boards and all the questions you can possibly think of! I’ve used Kaplan questions and usmle world! 2 months should be enough approximately 6-8hrs a day! Be confident and I would recommend starting with DIT! Good luck

Typically you can use the same LOR! I have to correct you on one thing though! Don’t use the word back up when talking about a specialty like family medicine! Primary care is actually the most popular right now especially with changes in Medicare and Obamacare! It degrades the specialty and is disrespectful! If program directors know that you applied to a different specialty they would drop your application fast! Be smart apply to the programs and specialty that you love! Lors are very important to your application process. Also make sure the programs that you apply for don’t have more than one residency program because they would find out and you won’t be considered! Good luck on your application process and I hope you match to the program you want!